Gas Mantle Flat Iron Square Redcross Way London


2015-04-14 13.51.52The last time I took a picture of this, The hoarding was too high to get an image of the buildings front, but today the hoarding was lower so I was able to take this photo through a gap.Can you see the remains of a gas light? Its on the right of this image in the middle of the shop front which is what this building was when I was growing up in the 60s.We called it Joes.He sold sweets like sugar mice and flying saucers.I remember wooden floorboards and a coal fire burning in the back room where he would sit with his wife until a customer came.It really was like stepping back in time.Next door to Joes is Devonshire House.I seem to remember reading somewhere that it operated as a restaurant not in my lifetime you understand!These buildings are Georgian. I’m not sure what is going to happen to them, but they have been empty for at least 40 years.

